The First Battle Scars

4 06 2008

Two weeks ago over the Memorial Day weekend, Emmanuel got his first of many scars he’ll have in life. While he was playing with his brother, he fell and hit his head against the sharp corner of the wall, cutting his forehead on Saturday night at 10pm. When I saw the cut I immediately knew that he would need stitches. You notice these accidents seem to happen at most inconvenient time of the day? So we debated whether to take him to ER or to an urgent care. Taking him to an ER would mean waiting 3 or more hours just to get the treatment. So we opted for an urgent care. One doctor called back and recommended that we take him to the nearest ER but when we told him that we would like to get the treatment right away and that we’re willing to drive out to where his clinic was he was gracious enough to break away from his family and meet us at such late hour. He was a doctor truly committed to the Hippocratic Oath to help the patients.

Unless you have tried to stitch up a two-year-old’s forehead, you probably have no idea what kind of strength a 30 lb body can generate. We had to tie up his arms around his chest and the legs with patient gowns. Then, I had to lie on top of him and hold his head still with my two hands. As the doctor gave him the shot and started to stitch, I was reminded of Dr. James Dobson’s book, “When God Doesn’t Make Sense” where he talks about his experience with his young son at a doctor’s office. I had the exact situation where Emmanuel was crying his lungs out with a look that seems to say, “Why are you letting this man hurt me so much?” As a father, I wanted to say, “This is the only way your wound would be healed and be well.” But there was no way for a two-year-old to understand this. To him, it seemed so cruel that his dad would help this man by hold him down and let him continue to inflict pain on him. All I could say was, “It’s okay. Daddy’s here. I love you. You’ll be fine.” Dr. Dobson book tackles this difficult issue of Christians dealing with pain and suffering in life that doesn’t seem to make sense at all. I thank the Lord that I got a little glimpse of what God might be going through when I go through pains in life.

I’m happy to report that Emmanuel is doing just fine. In fact, he scraped his nose two days later when he rolled down from steps at our friend’s house. Lord, may he live long enough to know you, love you, and bring glory to you with his life.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 06 2008
Casey

these boys…they’re resilient, aren’t they. I recall a similar look on Clay’s face as they were attempting to “reduce” his dislocated finger. I actually could not look him in the eye as they did this, it pained me so much! It’s hard, as a parent, to see your child suffer. Yet they’ve forgotten about it almost immediately. We should be more like our kids in our dealings with pain and understand the endurance that comes with perseverance!! 🙂 (or is it the other way around??:)

8 06 2008
Faith De La Cour

As I read about the rush to Urgent Care I tried to think of what I would do here in Japan! These days I would go to a large teaching hospital nearby, but there have been times where I was totally stumped. Thanks to the internet, I discovered that a scalp cut can be brought together through super glued hairs crossed over the cut…It worked well.

We look forward to meeting Emmanuel when he comes to Japan. (That was my grandfather’s middle name–wonderful name!)

Leave a Reply

